Disability Acts


    The Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act, 2016 was enacted by Government of India on 28.12.2016 and came into force from 19.04.2017 and it is applicable to the State of Haryana as well. This Act replaces The Persons with Disabilities (Equal Opportunities, Protection of Rights and Full Participation) Act, 1995.

    The types of disabilities have been increased from existing 7 to 21 and the Central Government has the power to add more types of disabilities. The disabilities are given below:-

    1. Physical disability
      1. Locomotor disability
        1. Leprosy Cured Person
        2. Cerebral Palsy
        3. Dwarfism
        4. Muscular Dystrophy
        5. Acid Attack Victims
      2. Visual Impairment
        1. Blindness
        2. Low Vision
        3. Hearing Impairment
        4. Deaf
        5. Hard of Hearing
      3. Speech and Language Disability
    2. Intellectual Disability
      1. Specific Learning Disabilities
      2. Autism Spectrum Disorder
    3. Mental Behavior (Mental Illness)
    4. Disability caused due to
      1. Chronic Neurological Conditions such as
        1. Multiple Sclerosis
        2. Parkinson’s Disease
      2. Blood Disorders
        1. Haemophilia
        2. Thalassemia
        3. Sickle Cell Disease
    5. Multiple Disabilities (more than one of the above specified disabilities)
    6. Any other category as may be notified by the Central Government.
    Disability Acts and Rules
    Title View / Download
    State Notification 12-09-2013
    Accessible Version : View(4 MB)
    State Notification 05-08-2021
    Accessible Version : View(143 KB)
    Amended Guidelines
    Accessible Version : View(603 KB)
    Assessment Guidelines, 2018
    Accessible Version : View(3 MB)
    RPWD Rules 2018
    Accessible Version : View(2 MB)
    RPWD Rules 2017
    Accessible Version : View(603 KB)
    RPWD ACT 2016
    Accessible Version : View(1 MB)
    Repealed Act, 1995
    Accessible Version : View(357 KB)
    Related Website
    Title External Link
    All the new Disability certificates shall be generated through Unique Disability Id Portal View
    Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment, Government of India View
    Department of Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities (Divyangjan), Government of India View
    Department of Social Justice and Empowerment, Government of Haryana View